top of page
Writer's pictureMattison Allen

Bears quarterback wins nonprofit award

Updated: Apr 15, 2021


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 16, 2021) - Bears quarterback Drew Brees was awarded the National American Football Association (NAFA) Man of the Year for his outstanding achievements in his non-profit Breesing By.


The NAFA Man of the Year award is given to one NAFA athlete based on their charity and volunteer work. This award was started in 1990 in honor of former Chicago Koala wide receiver James Holland who volunteered at the Red Cross.


Breesing By is a nonprofit organization that helps families have an easier life. The company takes on families to sponsor financially in order to get them back on their feet. These families come from multiple backgrounds, but they all hold one thing in common and that is their heroic passion to stay afloat in times of trouble.


“Breesing By was an idea I’ve always had and never knew how to start,” Brees said. “Growing up in a family that struggled, I knew I wanted to give back if I ever had the chance. Since starting my NAFA career, I’ve been given that chance. I’m proud of what we’ve done with Breesing By and I’m excited to see how much further it can go.”





Breesing By is dedicated to helping families in need. Brees himself grew up in a low income house-hold raised by a single mother. Brees’ mother worked multiple jobs at a time to keep her sons comfortable. This nonprofit is helping parents like this regain confidence in themselves to pursue careers they can be successful in.


Brees began the company back in 2015, just two years after this professional start in Birmingham. Over the last six years Breesing By has helped 62 families, one a month since the company’s launch. The majority of these 62 families are now back into the workforce and have regained their financial independence.


“We step in to give these families peace of mind financially,” Brees said. “Each month we, as a company, take on one family. We give them anything they need depending on their situation. Sometimes, this is shelter, food or clothes. Sometimes, it’s training to help parents find a job. We want to take the weight off of their shoulders for a month so they can become independent.”


The families apply or are nominated through the Breesing By website. One a family is chosen, Breesing By meets with them as soon as possible to really learn the details of their situation. From there the company tries to accompany these needs.


The nonprofit works with sponsorship families that help to provide housing to those who need it. As well as working with local food banks and thrift stores for more necessary provisions. Breesing By also has a contact with local agencies all over the nation to help withe possible job training.


“I don’t know where I would be without Breesing By,” said Stephanie Young, a former recipient of the program. “This team truly gave me my self confidence back. As a single mother I had to drop out of school, but they helped me finish my GED so I could better provide for my daughter. I am forever grateful to Drew Brees and his foundation.”


Brees was awarded the honor for the 2021 season. The NAFA recognized Breesing By as a non profit that was “more than a charity but rather an opportunity” for those in need.


The Birmingham Bears has had two former players also receive this honor. Running back Matthew Cordon was given the award in 1997 for his charity Adoptable Not Abominal, a pet sanctuary for uncommon pets. Quarterback Thomas Wayne also received the award in 2014 for his work with Habitat for Humanity.


“I am blessed beyond belief,” Brees said. “This award means a lot to me, but it’s not the end-all-be-all. With or without this award Breesing By will continue to be dedicated to its mission to help families breeze through their struggles into a better life.”


To nominate a family please go to breesingby.org.


###





1 view0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page